Organizational chart

El Consejo General It has a structure made up of three governing bodies,

1.- El Full (made up of the presidency, the 83 deans and deans of the Bar Associations, 12 elective Members and elective Members among "lawyers of recognized prestige", the presidents and presidents of the Autonomous Councils of the Bar Associations, who holds the presidency of the General Bar Association and, with voice and without vote, the presidency of the Spanish Confederation of Young Lawyers)

2. - The Standing Commission composed


Victoria Ortega Benito
President of the Bar

Javier Martin Garcia
General secretary

Manuel Mata Pastor

Eugenio Ribón Seisfedos
Vice President

Maria Lourdes Carballo Fidalgo
Vice President

Jesus Sanchez Garcia
Dean of Barcelona

Oscar Fernandez Leon
Dean of Seville

Raphael Massieu Curbelo
Dean of Las Palmas

Antonio Morán Duran
Dean of Zaragoza

Andres de Diego Martinez
Dean of Cantabria

Marga Gonzalez Hill
Dean of Talavera de la Reina

Maria Hilari Sucurrat
Dean of Figueres

Bernard Lacarra albizu
Dean of Estella

Jose Soriano Poves
Dean of Valencia

Albino Notary Molina
Dean of Albacete



3. - The President of Consejo General de la Abogacía Española, Victoria Ortega Benito, whose functions are defined in article 104 of the General Statute of the Abogacía Española (EGAE), which are the following:

  1. hold the representation of Consejo General and, consequently, hold the representation of the Abogacía Española and to be a spokesperson for all the Bar Associations of Spain.
  2. Ensure the prestige of the professional legal profession.
  3. Defend the rights of the Bar Associations and their members when required by the respective Association and protect the lawful freedom of action of the legal professionals and professional societies.
  4. Summon and preside, setting the agenda, the sessions of the Plenary and the Permanent Commission, as well as the other ordinary or extraordinary Commissions, deciding the ties with a casting vote.
  5. Propose the appointment of papers to prepare the resolution or dispatch of a matter.
  6. Authorize with their signature the agreements of the Plenary and the Permanent Commission and ensure their correct execution.
  7. Exercise the superior direction of the activity of the organs of the Consejo General.
  8. Those that have been delegated by the Plenary.
  9. How many others correspond to it as provided by the provisions in force and especially this Statute.

In the Latest News There are 11 Commissions determined by the Plenary, with the following subcommittees and working groups:

  1. Presidency Commission
  2. Training Commission
  3. Commission for the Defense of the Rights and Professional Interests of the Legal Profession
  4. Professional Deontology Commission
  5. Professional Organization Commission
    • Subcommittee on Competition Law and Consumer Defense
    • European Union Law Subcommittee
    • Organ for the Prevention of Money Laundering of the Legal Profession (OPBA)
  6.  Commission for Free Legal Assistance and Social Function
    • Subcommittee on Penitentiary Law
    • Subcommittee on Aliens and International Protection
    • Juvenile Subcommittee
    • Working Group of the Official Shift in Common Territory
    • People with Disabilities Working Group
  7. Equality Commission
    • Subcommittee on Violence against Women
  8. Commission for Studies, Reports and Projects
    • Subcommittee on Civil Jurisdiction
    • Subcommittee on Criminal Jurisdiction
    • Subcommittee on Contentious-Administrative Jurisdiction
    • Subcommittee on Labor Jurisdiction
    • Subcommittee of the Commercial and Bankruptcy Jurisdiction
  9. Commission for Relations with the Administration of Justice
    • Subcommittee on Alternative Conflict Resolution Methods
  10. Commission for Innovation and Technological Development of the Legal Profession
    • SIGA Working Group
    • Digital Justice Subcommittee
  11. Budgetary and Financial Control Commission

In addition, there are other working groups:

  • Probonus
  • Coordination of Councils and Colleges
  • Institutional Representative Office (ORI)
  • Foreign Action Office (OAE)

Functions of the Consejo General

Among the many functions of the Council destacan:

  • Represent the Abogacía Española and to be a spokesperson for all the Bar Associations of Spain.
  • Safeguard the prestige of the legal profession and demand that the Bar Associations and their members fulfill their duties.
  • Prepare the General Statute of the Abogacía Española and approve the particular statutes drawn up by each College.
  • Form and keep updated the census of Spanish lawyers and keep the file and record of sanctions that affect them.
  • Establish the necessary coordination between the Colleges and the Autonomous Councils and resolve appeals against the agreements of the bodies of the Bar Associations and / or the Autonomous Councils.
  • Mandatory report on any project to amend the legislation on Professional Bar Associations.
  • Issue the reports that are requested by the Administration, Associations of Lawyers and official Corporations regarding matters related to its purposes or that it agrees to formulate on its own initiative; propose the legislative reforms it deems appropriate and intervene in all matters that affect the Abogacía Española.
  • Defend the rights of the Bar Associations, as well as those of their members, and protect the lawful freedom of action of lawyers.
  • Prevent intrusion and secrecy in professional practice by all legal means, prevent and prosecute illegal or unfair competition and ensure the full effectiveness of the provisions that regulate incompatibilities in the practice of Law.
  • Authorize the creation of Bars of Legal Practice of the Bar Associations, homologate them and coordinate and supervise their operation, following a report from the respective College.

In short, the Consejo General actively defends the rights of Associations and lawyers, ensures the correct exercise of the legal profession and compliance with their deontological obligations and defends the fundamental rights of citizens.







Last update: 27 / 03 / 2024